UnevenEdge

Complimentary vs Creepy

Sawdamizer

I was talking to my brother, who is high up in IT with a big company, and we were talking about how to be complimentary to the opposite sex (or same sex if you gay) vs being a total creep....

So, as a manager, I always have to be careful what I say, obviously, BUT I think because of my age and I am not a bad looking guy (I try and stay humble). So, there have been many times when I am opening the office for everyone and letting people in to the building I have complimented women on their outfit, example : "Good Morning Crissy, that is a very pretty dress" and their response is a giggle or a smile and saying thank you... and I can see they have a better attitude for a lot if not the rest of the day. Now, the opposite of that would be, "Hey Crissy, you look hot in that skirt!".

I think I am awarded favor because of certain things, but I wonder if my same original message would be as well received if someone that was in their 50s, fat, balding, stains on their shirt and just all around not nice to look at aesthetically, let alone creepy demeanor...

Though, I do compliment both sexes evenly I think, "Love that tie", "Great shoes!", "New hair? Looks good, I like it"

What do you think? Have you been on the receiving end of this situation? Would it have been different for any reason, if you were offended?

I'm simply charismatic......I can do both because I'm genuinely a nice guy, but I know how to pull off crass and uncouth in such a way that it comes off as playful and not creepy.  Both a gift and a curse really because that has earned me the title comfort negro

Anyway, I saw this on a friend's wall and I was just like "boy, feminism is trying real hard to stay relevant".

C4nn665.jpg

"comfort negro"

That's like our version of friend zoned, right?