UnevenEdge

Filming/VideoTaping Live Music (Various Videos)

Guest Zintar

As the header suggests, filming / video taping live music. (or even making/directing music videos)

I have done a lot of that over the years. Do any other members here also do that?

I have been a musician for decades and recorded audio at shows for a long time. Occasionally I would film some video here and there, around 2006 and beyond I

started to film most shows that I went to. That was around the time that I got really into video and also learned how to edit and author dvds. Often sharing them at legit sites like dimeadozen and zappateers.

Often times getting good access and/or permission to film shows that may not have been allowed by most. I have also filmed "stealth" on occasion. That can be pretty nerve racking!

Playing live shows myself and making friends with lots of musicians and bands I was a fan of helped me have good access to many shows. I have been an Archivist for years and

I really enjoy contributing to the documenting and archiving of live events and one time performances. Filming a show is work, you are not able to really enjoy the show, as you spend all night looking

at your monitor screen, change tapes, batteries, etc. Especially when running more than one camera angle.

Anyhow, I sometimes post stuff on youtube for people to sample before they download some file for a 2 dvd set that is about 8 or 9 GBs.  After a while I pull the videos from youtube.

That said, I do have many still up and figured I post some here. 

If anybody else does something similar, go ahead and post in this thread or make your own. Either way, cool.

I will offer a little info for any of the videos that I embed in this thread. I hope some of you folks enjoy some of this stuff. Thanks for checking this thread out!

Das Boton. They were based out of Chicago and pretty much Billy Dolan's project. Billy is a super cool guy and fine guitarist. He had some great bands back throughout the 90s.